Cleanser

  1. Clinique Liquid Facial Soup

  2. Clarins

  3. Dermalogical Derma Clay

  4. Shiseido The Skincare Purifying Cleansing Foam

  5. Shiseido The Skincare Purifying Cleansing Foam with Exfoliating Bits

  6. Shiseido White Lucent Cleanser

Fav: Dermalogical Derma Clay
Rant:

Toner

Im not a believer of toners. Have not use much and didnt find much to shout about. Dermatologists have mentioned toners are basically an additional cleansing step and to increase hydrating purposes. These days, however, toner does more than that. Theres whitening & 2% salicylic acid (BHA) versions and those that help serum and moisturiser absorption. I basically dont think i need these.

Firstly, there cant be much whitening ingredients. BHA? You can find that in a moisturiser. Help with absorption? A simple and gentle facial massage can achieve that and even more (facial sculpting and uplifting). Secondly, with a good cleansing product, why would you need a toner for extra cleansing?

Most importantly, dermatologists have claimed oily skin types do not require toning. I bet Asian women would debate with me the usefulness of toners. Not that i dont want to believe in them, its just i cant find enough reasons to.

  1. Clarins Toning Lotion (Combi-Oily Skin)
    This is a gentle and alcohol free toner but thats pretty much. I didnt even complete 20% of the whole bottle. I think theres a mattifying version with clay content. So when you shake it, the clay is mixed into the lotion. That may be a better choice for its added property to control oiliness but probably not a wow product.

Reviewed on 27 Jul 2007.

  1. Clinique Clarifying Moisture Lotion 2 (Dry Combi Skin)
    All Clinique toners used to contain heavy concentration of alcohol. Can you imagine that! About a few years back, more and more women complained about sensitive skin and the biggest concern was fragrance and alcohol. Perhaps thats why they have changed their ingredients. God bless them.

I remembered reading there was one particular toner that contains BHA. Thats a good ingredient in a toner! But i wonder what kind of education the sa has cause nobody knew which one and dont know whats BHA too. HMMMM!

My guess will be the combi-oily version, afterall, BHA are designed for oily people. How much concentration? I cant be sure but i dont think its the required 2%. Anyways #2 didnt work for me. Towards the end of the face, my face got redder! Talk about its million bottle sale worldwide.

Reviewed on 27 Jul 2007.

  1. Kose Clear Lotion
    I tried a sample and its still 60% full. Haha…u can guess what it means. Besides even with the fragrance, the alcohol stills smells pretty strong.

Reviewed on 27 Jul 2007.

  1. Nature’s Care Calming Toner
    It contains oligopeptide 10 and tea tree oil. I dont notice any difference. I think im allergic to tea tree oil!

Reviewed on 27 Jul 2007.

  1. Albion Skin Conditioner
    Na, i haven tried yet but i want to. Dont laugh at me. I read pimples decrease and radiance increases with use. There are more effects i believe. Perhaps its worth a try.

Reviewed on 27 Jul 2007.

Moisturiser

Ive used tons of moisturizers but many i cant remember already. This list cites products that’re more memorable and recent.

  1. Fruit of the Earth Aloe Vera 100% Gel

Be sure you get only this brand. Its pure 100% aloe with no added color. The ingredient list is probably the shortest out of so many commercial aloe vera gel ive seen on the shelves. I dont use this on the face (not good for it) but i apply this after a day at the beach. And its really great to soothe any sunburns you might have. I recommended this to a few friends when they got sunburns and they all said it worked.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Albion Exage White Whitening Milk ¥3150/110g Type II

My friend got me a II. i read that it contains some oil on its ingredient list. so i only use it at night. I woke up to makeup-like skin. Even better than the Clarins Multi-active Night that has helped me achieved that before.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Clarins Energizing Morning Aqua EssenceUsed this once or twice and stopped. It was alright pretty standard nothing much to wow about.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Clarins Hydra Balance Tinted Moisturiser SPF 6 Color: Bisque (the lighter color out of the two available shades)This is my daily moisturiser for at least 4 years. It works out fine with Shiseido The Skincare range foaming cleanser and my tropical pimple cream. Because both are tinted, they help in correcting skin tone as well. The switch came when i got tired of needing to use a pimple cream. PLus skin wasnt as good as i want it to be…its like i still see bumps. As years go by, the combination no longer works too.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Clarins Multi Active Night MoisturiserWhen i wake up in the morning, i cant help but say WOW. Its a miracle cream. Friends who used it had the exact claim as well. But you know something, it only works at night. I tried using it day time but no use. Most importantly, the benefits are temporary and not sustainable. I remembered i used 2-3 tubes of this and i dont see effects being carried over. At $90+ per bot, it just isn’t value for $.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Clarins Multi Active SerumNot much effects noticed. Its a small bottle and costs $90+!

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Clarins Multi Day Moisturiser
    As much as i want to try products that came from the same company, this product just doesnt work at all. It doesnt give enough hydration to my face nor do i see oiliness control. I tried 1 bottle and thats it.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel (Combi Oily-Oily)
    Mine’s the biggest bottle and i regret it! My bumps did not disappear. I dont see any results and i only use it for my arms now. The worst thing was it wasnt as moisturising for them either. CRY! Did they claim they sold so much bottles it could fill an olympic size pool? Funny how it manages to top those beauty awards too!

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Dermalogical Sheer Tint Moisture SPF15
    There are tiny flecks that give a sparkle to the face. Im not going to wear that especially not daytime. Moisturising effect is so-so. Not much to exclaim about. Its a waste of $.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Dermalogical Active Moist
    My current moisturizer. Its slightly better than average and it really does moisturise. I have to use it with my sunscreen to control the shine. Not anything to scream about right? Thats why im switching.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Kose Moisture Skin Repair Rice Power Extract
    I especially bought the limited edition large version and i still have more than half left. I suspect this contains alcohol even though sa says no. Surprisingly, it was ok when i tried the sample but when i tried using it…. . However, if you dont have any allergies and the skin type is normal-combination, this will be a great product.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Nature’s Care Organics Controlling Lotion
    This is part of the acne treatment pack and it contains oligopeptide 10 and BHA 1%. I dont notice any effects.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

  1. Trilogy Rosehip Oil
    Though not locally available, its easy to order online. Thats what i did. I believe this dark bottle darling (bottle is like those that are used to store essential oils) is priced around $35, at the prevailing oz:sg interest rate then. I bought this upon hearing it works great on lines and stretch marks. It didnt work on my fine lines nor did i see any improvement for the upper thighs stretch marks. Ok maybe i was expecting too much for the stretch marks. That said, it really is a good oil for expected mothers. Rub this on the belly everyday and you wont get any lines after giving birth. Right now, i used it in conjunction with a moisturiser for my hands, neck etc. You only need 1 tiny drop and this bottle has been with me for more than 3 years.

Reviewed on 28 Jul 2007.

Eye Care

1. Talika Lipocils

Im not a faithful user of this. My lashes aint short to begin with. There was a period when I was using mascara EVERYDAY and the lashes started to shorten! So based on great reviews from other users, I bought mine in HK for about S$40. Pretty affordable compared to S$80 in Singapore. Once bought though, I stopped using mascara. Not much makeup too. So I got lazy and didn’t continue. Its still a great product though.

Reviewed on 3 Aug 2007, 5.17pm.

2. Kose Rice Extract

I wanted to love this. Bought it together with its water-like moisturizer but none made an impression. Despite that, I finished the bottle coz it was expensive! Only towards the last 10%, did I notice slight fainting of my lines.

Reviewed on 3 Aug 2007, 5.21pm.

3. Dermalogical Multi-Vitamin Eye Care

Nothing great to shout about and never buy it in the local salon. It costs me a freaking $90 or more whereas online is only selling it at $60+. It helped to maintain suppleness but I didn’t see any fainting of my lines nor dark circles. Ive finished the tube though.

Reviewed on 3 Aug 2007, 5.27pm.

4. La Posay Vitamin C Eye Cream

By far, this left the best impression. I got it after reading it won an Instyle award but that was quite some time ago already. I didn’t repeat my purchase coz was hoping for something more. This cream lightens circles a little. My fine lines were kept under control and I don’t really see them.

Reviewed on 3 Aug 2007, 5.30pm.

5. StriVectin-SD Eye Cream

Its freaking expensive and its a waste of $! My lines got worst after using it 😦

Update 6/10/07. Recently, I started to use this again. There was no improvement and my lines worsen. Just when I thought of giving up, there were signs of improvement. That’s after 5-6 months. It is a very long wait!!! There is still some depression but improved a bit.

Pore Care

  1. Clinique Pore Minimizer
    Basically this is silicon. As we know, silicon helps to cover up pores. The overall texture is wonderfully mat and pores are nicely covered. Whether its beneficial to the skin is still a debate. I dont really use it unless im applying foundation. Its like a barrier against ingredients from the foundation that might seep into the pores.Note: My foundation are not labelled non-comedogenic.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 9.33 pm.

  1. Very Very Sofina Clear Perfect Mousse
    It has huge raves in Japan and I read that it eliminates blackheads overtime. This is a recent purchase and ive only use it once to date. The texture feels exactly like Clinique Pore Minimizer. Not sure if i purchase the right thing as it sure feels like its an exact Clinique copy.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 9.37 pm.

Update:

Treatment

  1. Clinique Night Treatment Gel
    Not too good on my face. Its uses alcohol. But totally awesome on my back. Ive been using it for about 4 days and almost all my back zits are disappearing. I do find you have to consistently use it to keep zits at bay. Is it my hormones or the product? Sigh, kinda troublesome to apply everyday.

  2. Tropical Acne-Aid Cream
    Ive used it for more than 15 yrs but would need to switch soon as its no longer helping in zits.

  3. Clinelle Blemish Clear
    It won an award on Her World Beauty Msia version and so i bought it. This brand is now available in Singapore. What i like about this is theres no alcohol, its non-comedogenic, no artificial fragrance and coloring, no mineral oil, and it uses zinc, tea tree oil and salicylic acid to soothe those pimples. Ok its definitely gentle for skin going by the ingredients it didnt use. But i was wondering, did my pimple swell overnight or maybe 4 days later? Did it keep it from returning? Checklist says no unfortunately.

  4. Clarins Face Treatment Oil
    You wont believe this. I dont either but its really effective in treating pimples. I tried a sample and it lasts a damn long time. Use sparingly though! Other than that, it has plenty of other usage. If your foundation oxidises (which means you got a bad choice) and you cant get it exchanged, put a bit of this oil. The color remains true and you get a light radiance on the face too. If you’re pregnant, use the oil to massage the belly for prevention of stretch marks. Impressive isnt it? So does the price tag but totally worth it.

Reviewed on 5 July 2007, 5.26pm.

Sunscreen

  1. Clarins UV Plus Protective Day Screen SPF40 PA+++ Oil Free

Whether this is a good buy, im not sure. The texture feels silky on the hand and likewise upon application. Being an oily skin person, i was concerned whether this is truly beneficial to me. I noticed 2-3 hours later, my skin became mirror-like. Though not happy about this, i continued using. There was no blackhead formation but i get a few oil bumps. It is very expensive at S$60 for only 30ml. I will not buy it again.

Reviewed on 2 Jun 2007, 4.58 pm. (Based on past reviews)

2. NIKS Gentle Sun Protect SPF48 PA+++

The active ingredient for sunscreen is zinc oxide and its gentle on the skin. As long as the product uses natural ingredient its fine. Dont use those chemical ones! Its very water-resistant. Hard to spread though. I use this for my body.

Reviewed on 2 Jun 2007, 4.58 pm. (Based on past reviews)

  1. Sunkiller Clear Water Kiss Me SPF50+ PA+++

This is a recent purchase (late May 07 during GSS). Im happy about this purchase. It is indeed thin & watery in texture…the consistency & appearance is like that of rice water. I have to use abit more as the texture is thin.Upon application, the solution immediately melts in and my skin remains matte even after 3hours, with only the nose slightly oily. Remarkable! Perhaps this is also due to the fact, ive used Borghese Mask for deep cleansing before that and so not much oil production there.It doesnt cause any reactions to my sensitive skin either. I dont see inflammed oil bumps. So ill continue using this.

Also loved that its SPF50, the highest SPF any sunscreen can go. Ive yet to test its waterproof abilities but as i tend to visit beaches pretty often these days, this clear water will certainly be of much use!

This is another small bottle at only 27ml but compared to Clarins it costs about S$12+ before the 10% discount i got from Robinsons. Watsons & Guardian sometimes have 20% discount storewide sale and it might be cheaper if you can catch it.

Reviewed on 2 Jun 2007, 5.11 pm.

  1. Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion For Face/Body SPF55 PA+++

This is another personal favourite. The texture is fairly milky, not as watery as Sunkiller ClearWater but it really goes on matte, really matte. I wanted to get a bottle of this after a sample but the sa told me they dont carry any lotion thats SPF55. I guess im abit late in the cult circle; they probably withdrew this from Singapore. So the highest SPF they now carry is SPF50. I tried a sample. Amazingly, the texture and how it reacts to me is entirely different. My face was oily within an hour.

Though it is common knowledge that the higher the SPF, the more moisturising effect it has, i have been to find products that carrys the high SPF without being too moisturising for oily skin. And it surprised me how a small difference can result in dramatic effects. Ive also tried other SPF amounts from their sun care range but find that only this one is the best.

The SPF55 version is still in my “to-buy” list after so many years but with the advancement in time, the Japanese also introduced so many affordable drugstore brands. Its good with such choices!

Reviewed on 2 Jun 2007, 5.22 pm.

  1. Banana Boat Sport SPF50 Continuous Clear Spray (Very sweat & water Resistant)

I bought this for my snorkeling trip in Redang. I like that it’s a spray type so it won’t be a hassle trying to cover the entire body with sunscreen. The smell is not over-whelming unlike most drugstore brands. In fact, I quite like the smell, especially when it lingers abit on the clothes after one wash. A very sporty wash feel. The most glorious part is the spray effect. It really leaves a good sheen. Under the sun, it looks very glowy and healthy. You dont need any tanning lotion! I finished the bottle in one trip with about 2 sprays for 3 days. Of course I use generously and shared with mates too.

One thing I note, it does not have PA+++.

Reviewed on 6 October 2007

  1. Fruit of the earth Aloe Vera

When you did not protect your skin well, you’ll find it burning. After a few days, skin will turn flaky and dead skin cells start to fall. Ouch! That’s when you need this. I purchased this when I had a burn on my lower hind leg. It speeds up the recovery process although a light scar is still there. I have friends who used this after sunburns and they healed after a few days. Its pretty cooling too. What aloe does is it forms a protective film over the skin so pollutants and sun cannot harm the already weakened skin. This speeds up the process. Aloe is also very moisturizing and has long been used for its medical properties. I choose this brand after reading previous reviews. Did a comparison of ingredient list and learnt that it has the least combination with other chemicals. Next to fresh aloe, I think this is the best substitute.

Reviewed on 6 October 2007

Exfoliator

  1. Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant

  2. Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant

3. Clinique Turn Around

Mask

  1. 美肌一族 Facial MaskThis is a brilliant moisturising mask. Ive used it twice this week. Not wanting to waste the essence in the pack, i reused it and i think i can do thrice! The mask left my face fairer, radiant, smooth like an egg. Ive previously tried using some moisturising mask and the face looked like a steamed oil sheet. As you know, my face is combi-oily, thats why i cant use such masks but women above 25 years old dont really have much choice. Anti-aging is the priority now!!! Fortunately this mask is suits my skin type. I heard the ingredient list includes pearl powder, that explains the whitening effect. I got a friend who bought for me in Tokyo. Thank you darling. I should be buying more, better than Neutrogena Fine Fairness!

Reviewed on 15 Jul 2007, 12.50 am.

  1. Utena Q10 Mask (22 sheets)It was another hugely raved mask in Japan but I would pass this. Although it was cheap, the mask was small (my face was already smaller than most) and it doesnt absorb much essence. It stink badly of alcohol, my #1 concern! Fortunately, I dont notice much effect except a slight redding in the cheek area.

Reviewed on 15 Jul 2007, 12.58 am.

  1. Borghese Fango Brillante

The mud is pink and it smells really nice. Upon smearing on the face, theres an immediate tightening and stinging. Not sure if this is coz my skin is sensitive. So i waited approx 10mins. By this time, the stinging has lessen but my face is getting tighter and tigher. Its very hard to wash it using bare hands and i used a facial cleansing sponge that was bought in Watsons.Within a while, the mask is off. Even without my glasses on and the room was dark, i could see a really radiant complexion. When i go under natural light, my skin looked matte, tightened texture and a pinkish glow was radiating from beneath.Its an excellent buy!

I bought this at Robinsons. Regular price is S$68 with 10% discount. According to the sa, the bottle will last 5-6months and i reckon it will last even longer for myself. This review is based on the first time usage today. Ill keep updating if it helps in pore tightening and lesser blackheads!

Reviewed on 29 May 2007, 12.30pm.

Update: 15/7/07 Its been more than a month since the 1st usage and i still love this. Its a weekly routine, twice a week. Ive gotten used to the stinging, finding it more refreshing & less stinging if i have the fan blowing directly on the face. There isnt any pore reduction but it kept blackheads at bay. Anyways i dont get much blackheads these days with the correct skincare usage. Yipee!

  1. Neutrogena Deep Whitening Mask

I put this mask on for about 15mins and did not wash it off after the session. My skin looked fairer. However, the essence took a fair while before it sinked into my skin and even after 1 hour ++, it felt sticky. The time lag between the first and second usage was about 3 days. Not sure if its due to this often usage, the face & neck felt itchy. Think i should only use it once a week and probably i will use water to clean my face after the session.

The first usage was in afternoon. After 2-3 hours, my skin became oily. I had to wash it away and apply my normal moisturiser instead. The second usage was during night time. I went to sleep after the mask session. Perhaps the pillow did the oil sucking so i woke up with a really matte and radiant skin.Bought it at Watsons for S$39.90 and they’re giving away 1 free piece. Thats the same discount for the direct 20% off.

Reviewed on 29 May 2007, 1pm.

  1. Shiseido The Skincare Purifying MaskIve been using this for 2-3 years. Its a whitist mask. I love the smell and that its not tightening on the face. It feels light ; i can still talk on the phone. Its not stinging on my sensitive face. Compared to Borghese mask, its easier to wash it off so much so that I use Avene Spring water and about 3 pieces of cotton pad to take it off. The result is a matte skin. Not so much of radiancy. After a few hours, my skin still look good and matte. Tats why i keep using this.

    However, i dont see much improvement in my pores. Unless i squeeze the pores prior to applying, there isnt much difference. And until i used Dermalogical cleanser, i see blackheads still appearing. So I believe its just a standard mask and i needed more.

    It comes in rather small tube. I have to squeeze the mixture onto my hands first before i apply. Its a semi-wet texture. Not too messy to apply. Kinda find it expensive since it finishes fast.

Reviewed on 29 May 2007, 1.18pm. (Based on past reviews)

  1. Aspirin MaskLearnt this through makeupalley and i used in antipication of the great reviews there. Disappointment was the conclusion. First its hard to mix it with water. I used about 6pills and though they’re cheap, i find it wasteful. Second because of the inconsistency i.e. water & aspirin not mixed together, its very hard and messy to apply. I waited 10mins before taking it off and i dont see any results. Waste of time.

Reviewed on 29 May 2007, 1.23pm. (Based on past reviews)

  1. Sisley Phyto-Blanc Ultra Lightenig Mask
    Now let me recall why i bought this mask. Oh yes, to lighten scar marks, increase radiance, improve overall texture and whitening effect. It did none of those. I really tried to like it. Man its expensive!!! 1st and last usage, sitting in the drawer. Sigh.

Reviewed on 29 May 2007, 1.30 pm.

  1. Lifecella Orange Mask
    I loved this mask. I used to apply this twice a week. I noticed whitening effect and improved radiance. This mask contains Vitamin C. The good thing about this mask is it uses a stick on technology. I can move around without fearing it would drop and its not soaking wet too. At S$7 a piece, its too expensive and ive moved on.

Reviewed on 29 May 2007, 1.34 pm.

  1. Clinique Pore Minimizer Refining Mask
    Its quite a basic clay mask so only used it once. Pore size not much difference. Oiliness control…didn’t notice much too.

Reviewed on 29 May 2007, 1.38 pm.

Blotter

  1. Kose Oil Blotter コンビニック セレクティ サファリ(package in black animal print) ¥367
    Another excellent purchase! This really sucks up oilies.

  2. Shiseido Pureness Blotter
    Look beyond the plain blue packaging, this blotter is a star! I love it comes with fine powder so I don’t need to touch-up. Perfect for lazy bums.

3 responses »

  1. Very good and unbiassed review.I have personally tried some the products mentioned and my fav are; Albion skin conditioner,Albion coarses whitening and moisture milk,Clarins night cream,shisheido sunblock and borghese pink mask. Any review on hydraulic serum,tried Chanel hydramx,Clarins hydra quench,lancome zen hydrating gel but not satisfied.Have u tried Dermalogical hydrating serum booster?

  2. Nice post. I study something tougher on completely different blogs everyday. It can at all times be stimulating to learn content material from different writers and follow slightly something from their store. I’d want to use some with the content on my blog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a hyperlink in your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s