Base

  1. Chanel Blanc Universel Sheer Illuminator
    I reckon this is more suitable for normal to dry skin. Upon application, it feels heavy with silicon. Despite that, it did not cover my pores as nicely as i wanted it to be. Its supposed to have oil control but the light pigments sorta accentuate the oiliness. Its too bright for my liking. Over the day, it did not hold the foundation well and patches appear. The texture is pretty hard, making it hard to use it as a base for undereyes too. It smells nice though.
  2. RMK Control Color N – 01 For Clear SkinI kinda regretted this. I haven apply it but on the back of my hand, it appears pretty shiny. Yes it contains those pigments. Sigh… i can only apply to certain areas. or use it during night time.

Update: This is a wonderful base! On the face, it appears translucent not as shiny as when applied on the hand. I also use it to highlight certain areas such as top of nose, chin and forehead to accentuate lengthiness. It brightens the whole complexion, making foundation even more dewy!

  1. Shu Uemura UV Under Base
    This was a makeup base hugely raved by makeup artist, well at least it was so two years ago. Mousse texture makes it easy to apply but the spray applicator is kinda hard to use. The right amount of pressure has to be applied so i dont squeeze out too much. The most important technique is the way you squeeze it out. The bottle has to be tilted 45 degrees facing down, else it would be liquid instead of mousse that comes out. I like to use a sponge instead of my hands, finding that this method spreads more evenly. Perhaps the sponge aids in absorbing extra buildup of product on the face. It comes with SPF too. For office use, this should be sufficient but i always like to use at least SPF 50 underneath the base for the sun in Singapore. Generally, it is a fairly decent base.

Review on 20/9/07.

Fav: –
Rant: –

Concealor

  1. CDP Concealor in Ivory
    Its very good in concealing acne scars and red pigmentation. I also use it to cover dark rings under the eye but find it drying as it ceases after a while. Is it the way i use it? Anyway, the price is a put-off, retailing over S$110 and is still rising. In HK, i think its about S$80.

Reviewed on 26 Jun 2007, 9.37 pm.

  1. MAC Concealor Trio Set in Light
    Gets my vote! I used in conjuction with MAC concealor brush and it covers wonderfully. I dont get ceases too! Using normal powder may be drying so i use Guerlain Metorites as a highlight as well as a finish.

Reviewed on 26 Jun 2007, 9.41 pm.

Fav: MAC Concealor Trio Set in Light
Rant: Drugstore brands

Foundation

  1. Chanel Universal

  2. Chanel Radiance

  3. Clarins True Radiance Foundation

  4. Clinique Super Stay Foundation
    This is the worst foundation ever. It oxidizes real badly and made me look like an orange. Finish is no big deal. Total wreak on the oil control too.

  5. Cory Mineral Foundation
    I dont even know why i bought this. Fortunately, its just a sample. Its so hard to apply and it goes on like a cake i.e. looked like a thousand layers. I cant even bother to look at the color.

  6. MAC

  7. Makeup Forever Face & Body Liquid Makeup
    If you already have good skin, this is just nice. Well, not for people with capillaries like me. It cant hide anything and i really dont want to use a concealor (imagine the time!). Finish is not as ideal as i wanted it to be too. Its supposed to have oil control properties but doesnt seem so on me. The texture is too watery, making it hard to manage too. The bottle design is not hygenic, i still prefer press-spray kind.

  8. La Prairie Skin Caviar Foundation
    I guess this must be the best foundation ive used. It u’re getting married, please invest in this darling. Texture wise, its liquid but not watery. I can use hands, sponge or brush to apply it, in other words, you dont need any special technique for a wonderful finish. The finish is very dewy, so natural and radiant my friends asked if i went for a facial. Funny thing was when i really did went for one, no one asked if i did. Anyway, that is still nothing to wow about. The best part is when i take it off, my face looked better than if i didnt apply this darling at all. Perhaps its the caviar. I have nothing but good words for this foundation. Okay minus the price tag.

  9. Laura Mercier Oil Free Foundation
    Im still using this. It covers my red pigmentation well. Only need to press once for a pea-sized drop to cover the entire face. I use MAC 187 (Fibre optic brush) to apply this. Its a god-sent finish! Using hands or sponge will never deliver the same results. The finish is natural, not thick and evenly spread.

  10. Loreal Stay True Foundation
    Maybe i got this as a sample in the darkest shade, so it doesnt impress when i first put it on. Yeah i guess first impression is important. I read that its finish is very natural but upon application, it looks like thick. No chance i will buy the full bottle.

  11. Prescriptive Custom Blend 2 way Compact
    My first foundation and that was more than 10 years ago. Last i remembered, it was an ok foundation. Covers well. Best is the color is custom-blended.

  12. RMK Liquid Foundation Color 102
    Have not applied it yet. but it looks really good on my hand.

Update: A great foundation but coverage is sheer-medium. Im not someone who likes to build up. So on good days, it looked really great. I use hands to apply this. The texture is pretty fluid and spreads evenly. So theres no need to use sponges or brushes. Paired with RMK underbase, the result is an instant perk-me-up and i look like ive got great dewy, flawless & natural-looking skin. Its a great buy. Fortunately,102 is the right shade for me too as i bought it without trying on. No oxidization. I think it retails about S$40+ after conversion from yen. The bad thing is the bottle. Because its a screw design, theres a tendency to over-pour and waste the foundation. Plus its not hygienic when the wide opening is exposed to air and my hand. Other than that, its a great foundation that i think many makeup artists and loyal fans reckon so too.

  1. Shiseido White Lucent Brightening Foundation in Ocher 10

  2. Shiseido UV White 2-way cake

Fav: La Prairie Skin Caviar Foundation
Rant: Cory Mineral Foundation & Clinique Super Stay Foundation

Powder

  1. MAC Blot
    This is good. Really blots the face and left it mat for more than 3 hours.

  2. Makeup Store Mat Finish

  3. Lancome Mat Finish in 03 Sable
    It fell to the floor and i stopped using. Secretly was hoping it falls too.

  4. Prescriptive Custom Blend Powder

  5. Shiseido Rich Matte Film Translucent Powder
    Not a powder for me.

  6. Chacott Professional
    1st use today. Its brillant. Its silky smooth. Easily picked up by my Laura Mercier brush and evenly distributed within 2-3sweeps. Its white in color and only one color but goes on transparent. 6hours later, i only noticed slight shines around forehead, nose and upper cheek area when i go very close to the mirror. If i dont, i cant see any shine at all. It was hugely raved in Japan and i can see why.

Fav:
Rant:

Blush

  1. Chanel

  2. Clarins Blusher in Rose
    Loved this!

  3. PN

  4. Shu Uemura Blush

Fav: Clarins
Rant: Drugstore brands

Bronzer

  1. Body & Soul
    Ive passed this to bf. Its too dark for me. Upon application, its like a dark dirty patch. However bf uses it to much liking. He finished the whole thing and asked for more.

  2. Estee Lauder Powder Bronzer
    My fav! To use this, i gently sweep my contour brush over and slowly tap in an upward direction from the lower cheeks to the temple area, after which apply in a circular motion in the same direction.

  3. MAC
    Passed on to bf too.

  4. Revlon Skinlights Face Illuminator SPF15 in 51 Golden Light
    Its too shimmery! Gave me a few breakouts on the face as well but it looks gorgeous on the legs!

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 11.12 pm.

Highlighter

  1. Guerlain Meteriotes
    A very subtle highlighter so one doesnt go out lookin like a christmas tree. I love this. The compact is easier to use and prettier too. Haha.

  2. PN
    I used to use this as a highlight for my chin, forehead and just a little on the upper cheeks near to the nose. I got this free thanks to complimentary gift sets given to mum. It a wonderful product but i stopped using it when i thought the product was a little too old.

Fav: Guerlain Meteriotes
Rant: –

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 11 pm.

Eyeliner

  1. Lancome Artliner in Brown
    This has faithfully follow me for the past 5 years. It was my first liner and a liquid one. At that time, I didnt know liquid eyeliners are harder to draw. But with this, I get precise lining with just one draw and it drys fast too. Stays true throughout the day. Im still using it!

Reviewed on 11 Jun 2007, 9.37 pm.

  1. Makeup Store Glitter Liner in Choco Lux
    Its a loud party effect without the drama. Takes a while to dry but the effect is beautiful!

Reviewed on 11 Jun 2007, 9.39 pm.

  1. Missha Pearl Eyeliner
    Its even longer to dry than Makeup Store Glitter. The brush is too thin, I have to apply several times just to get 1 line. Its translucent in color so it matches easily but i wont purchase again.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 9.49 pm.

  1. Revlon Colorstay Liquid Liner in Black
    Revlon Colorstay Pencil Liner in Black
    Ive only used them once or twice and they’re still sitting in the drawer. The pencil and liquid liner brush are too hard. Color smudges too.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 9.51 pm.

Fav: Lancome Artliner in Brown Im still loving this. The next to get is Bobbi Brown Long-stay Gel when I exhaust the whole bottle.
Rant: Powder liners don’t work for me. I guess my lids oil up easily so it disappears easily too. There are bases which are very good in controlling the oilies and safe on lids; Urban Decay Primer Potion and MAC Bare Canvas. But im lazy…

Mascara

1. Maybelline Soft & Curl Mascara
I was introduced to this mascara by MUA due to the great reviews. Indeed it was good. It was very natural and held my curl all day. Doesnt smudge nor thickens so i can create nicely fan-out lashes everytime. I used it for more than 2 years and was almost reluctant to throw it away. Cant find it elsewhere in Singapore now.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 9.55 pm.

2. Lancome L’Extreme Mascara in 01 Noir Stretch
Excellent mascara! This performs just like Maybelline Soft & Curl but the lengthening effect is even better. I dont need any base underneath to lengthen when i use this. And i never need to worry about clumping. For mascara, always stick to cult brands and you wont go wrong!

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10 pm.

3. Revlon Luxurious Lengths Mascara in Blackest Black/ Noir Intense
Never buy on impulse and without doing research. Thats what i did and i ended up with this. Its still sitting in the drawer. Only used it once. Clumps my lashes. Smudges undereye…i looked like a panda god knows which part of the day.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.02 pm.

4. Loreal Lash Extend
To use this, brush on the white fibre then the mascara. First few applications are great. It delivers the longer and curlier lashes as promised. After the 5th application i think, lashes start to clump. Bad exposure to air and the mixture is all ruined. Never thought i will re-purchase. Although its advisable to get new mascara every 6 months, I had Maybelline Soft & Curl for more than 2 years and it never clump on me.

5. Shiseido The Makeuo Mascara Base
An excellent makeup base. It really lengthens. I could wear this alone for a natural effect.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 9.37 pm.

Fav: Lancome L’Extreme
Rant: Revlon Luxurious Lengths

Eyebrow

1. MAC Twisted Pencil
Its an automatic twist up pencil that doesnt require sharpening. Recommended a SA. The lead has since broken. Its hard to draw and i dont remember using it more than twice.

Reviewed on 2 Jun 2007, 1.23 pm. Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

2. MAC Eyeshadow in Espresso
Too dark for my liking. I dont even use it as an eye shadow.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.05 pm. Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

3. I Nouvi Eyeshadow
Nice pigments that stays true throughout the day. I dont remember the color code but its very natural on my brow.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.06 pm. Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

4. Revlon Colorstay Coffee Bean
This is my holy grail for the past 2-3 years. I only use 2 of the medium colors. Lighter one to fill in and the darker one to shape. An excellent combination. These days, a lot of companies came up with powder eye brow which i thought should have earlier. They look so natural and easy to control with a shader brush too. Whats more, its also easy to double-up as a eye-shadow.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.09 pm. Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

5. Shu Uemura P Beige 810
I was using this before i switched to Revlon Colorstay. Though the color in the palette doesnt look like its an eyebrow color i.e. pretty orangery, it goes on very natural on me.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.12 pm. Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

6. FF Eyebrow Kit Color: ライトブラウン (the lighter one out of the 2 palettes) ¥1260
This is the latest addition. Have not used it yet. It comes in 3 colors and i can see its very versatile to work with the brows. I bought the lighter palette out of the 2 color range. Most of use should be using this range. The lightest color in the palette can double up as a highlighter for the nose. Its very compact and comes with a mirror and brow shader brush. Plus easy to carry out in a pouch! FF Powder Eyebrow Palette Color: ライトブラウン (the lighter one out of the 2 palettes) ¥1260

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.15 pm.

This is excellent. I only use eyebrow powder. Before this, i was using eyeshadows. The color is very natural and i dont even need a special technique to apply it. It comes with a mirror meaning to say u can always carry it out for touch-ups. Although i dont see the need to. Mine lasts all day.

Reviewed on 19 July 2007, 12 am.

I found that it doesn’t last all day. There are days when I tend to run around and theres sun and sweat. So it kinda disappear when I checked upon reaching home. Fortunately my brows aint thin, otherwise you can imagine how horrifying an experience it would be for others.

Fav: FF Eyebrow Kit
Rant: MAC Twisted Pencil

Eye Shadow

  1. Bodyshop
  2. Body & Soul
  3. Chanel
  4. Clarins Ombre Soft Cream
  5. Clinique
  6. Elizabeth Arden
  7. Ettusias
  8. i Nouvi
  9. Kate
  10. MAC
  11. MAC Pigment
  12. Maybelline Cool Effect Cream
  13. Nars
  14. Shu Uemura
  15. Stila

Japanese eyeshadows are the in thing now. Mentionable brands are Lunasol, Testimo and Kate. Lunasol is not cheap. A quad palette is worth about the same as a MAC quad (direct conversion from yen, not the one retailing in Singapore). From what ive heard, its comparable to a MAC es. Whilst i have not tried before, it certainly leaves much to yearn for.

What i like about the other brands is the compact size they come in. Its easy to carry outdoors. Plus, the concept is the different shades of a hue in a palette so you can build the right intensity. Doesnt cost too much so its great to own a few to play around. Compared to a MAC or Shu palette, these are good quality yet so affordable. They also come with glitter and shimmer for a more 3D effect. A lot of Jap es had been featured in Nu Ren Wo Zui Da and many other Taiwan, HK and Jap magazines.

Fav: Shu Uemura gets my vote! MAC has tons of colors to play with. The quality is ok but there are some colors that should be avoided. Chanel & Nars are 2 other brands that are pretty good too. Nice buildability and last well.

Rant: Much about the rest.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.20 pm. Update on 21 September 2007.

Lip Stick

  1. Chanel
  2. Estee Lauder
  3. Loreal
  4. Maybelline
  5. PN
  6. Revlon
  7. Shiseido

Ive used so many and forgetten a lot too. Lipsticks are generally easy to pick. Pretty much depends on the color match so it’s really a personal preference. For added properties, select those with moisturizing care. However when you do that, you may have to forsake long-lasting ones. These tend to be drier. If you prefer the latter, use a lip balm underneath before putting on the color. MAC has a new duo lipstick that is long-lasting and comes with a gloss.

For those with a deeper natural hue on your lips like me, you’ll find that even light colors appear reddish. Its very easy to solve this. Just apply some foundation on. It brings down the color and keeps the color lasting too.

Fav: Estee lauder Pure Color Range. I just love the smell of it.

Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

Lip Gloss

  1. Bodyshop in 04
  2. Chanel in Praline
  3. Clinique Color Surge in 109 Tropical Sparkle
  4. Clinique Glosswear for Lips in 08 Kissy
  5. Guerlain Lip Gloss in Sun Goddess
  6. Kose Plump Shine Lip Color in RO 601
  7. Loreal Glam Shine (holographic) in 400 Aura
  8. Moonlight Lip Gloss
  9. PN 3D in 94

Chanel’s Praline was a hot fav a few years back. It complements our skin very well and blends in naturally. I love PN 3D. It’s a translucent lip gloss that’s meant to highlight. Even on its own, it creates a full sensation. I like that it also protects my chapped lips. Guerlain in Sun Goddess is goldion. Its my staple these days for the nude looks.

So far, I have not came across lip glosses to rant. They are all pretty decent which makes it easy to select. It’s the color you have to worry. For added properties, I’d like glosses to stay permanent! How troublesome is it to keep touching up few minutes or so. I’ve seen a few girls do that and found it quite an eye sore.

For cult favorites, I think MAC wins hands down. There was a time when Stila and Bobbi Brown pot rouges was very popular too. Many girls got the entire collection. I was just wondering how much gloss you can put on before they expire.

Fav: Chanel in Praline & Guerlain in Sun Goddess
Rant: NA

Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

Makeup Remover

  1. Body Shop Camomile Gentle Eye Makeup Remover
    Its really gentle as it describes. I have sensitive eyes and it doesnt sting nor redden my eyes. Though i thought i needed 2 pads soaked with the solution to completely take off everything. Too troublesome. I gave up.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.15 pm.

  1. Clarins Gentle Eye Makeup Remover
    Ah my first remover. I loved this when i first used it. Ive since moved on and there are really better products out there. Not that Clarins’ isnt good…its just average. Plus i need to use a pad to soak the solution.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.24 pm.

  1. LancomeBi Facil Non Oily Instant Cleanser Sensitive Eyes
    I think i bought the wrong bottle. Mine has 2 solutions and i have to shake it real hard to mix the oil and lotion together. It didnt work as well as i wanted it. That time i was still using Clarins and wanting a switch in brand. This came and i thought Clarins was better.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.26 pm.

  1. Simple Solutions Gentle Eye Remover
    This is a drugstore brand which can be easily obtained from Watsons and Guardian. Its very cheap too. No irritations on my eye. There are some removers that I used and they left my eyes blurry for at least the whole night. But I don’t think it cleanses well for heavy makeup. There are some mascara left-overs on my eye when I woke up the next day.

Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

Cleansing Oil

  1. DHC Cleansing Oil
    A very good cleanser. Furthermore, I felt there was still some residue left on my face after cleansing. Don’t like that feeling plus its hard to obtain. Don’t think I will repurchase.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.28 pm.

  1. Ginvera Olive Oil
    Please pass this. It clogs my pores!

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.25 pm.

  1. Olive Oil
    You probably cant imagine using a household olive oil on your face but I did. HAHA. Pretty good depending on which brand you’re using. Although it’s quite a nuisance to have to wash it off with a cleanser, it really kept my pores clean and tiny.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.17 pm.

  1. ??? Cleansing Oil
    I’ve forgotten the name but its another drugstore brand that won some award. I think it’s manufactured by Kose or Kanebo for their drugstore target. A clear bottle. I did not finish this. It doesn’t clean well with mascara residues left behind.

Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

  1. IPSA Cleansing Oil
    I believe there are 2 to 3 types, catering to different skins. I got one for combi and i loved it! This is my HG. It cleanses well. I dont experience clogged pores. Smells like baby shampoo. Washes off easily with water. Yeah no double step! Though i like to exfoliate using Dermalogical gentle exfoliant after this. Derma exfoliant is made of rice extract and ill rub hard to produce bubbles so its quite like a double cleansing too. Cheapest in Japan!

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.33 pm.

  1. Loreal Cleansing Oil
    I tried this many years back. It was an affordable bottle and a good one too. I think I first learnt about this in MUA. Many reviewers was saying it washes well and cleans off with water. I only managed to find one after searching for ages. During that time, Loreal was dis-continuing the oil. For what reasons, God’s sake! These days, its back in the market again. If Im not using IPSA, I will consider getting this bottle.

Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

  1. Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil
    Was it me? I tried a sample and it gave me bumps and pretty big ones too! I remembered I did not have to wait long for those bumps to appear. How horrifying. I got the lightest version… now where did something go wrong? In terms of washing, it left a residue too. Didn’t the SA said it washes with water? Anyways, I did wash with my cleanser later but the bumps still appear. Yicks!

Reviewed on 6 October 2007.

Fav: IPSA Cleansing Oil
Rant: Ginvera Olive Oil

Tools Brushes

  1. Bobbi Brown
    I only have the kabuki. It shreded a few hairs after 1-3 months. Not that good i reckon. But its very soft. Picks up well. Easy and comfortable to sweep across the face. Have not used other brushes but the quality should be there. Contemplating to get a traveller’s set.

  2. Body & Soul
    I dont recommend this brand. MAC may be more expensive but its definitely worth it. Thats another lesson learnt. Dont buy cheap brushes.

  3. Guerlain
    My first brushes are from Guerlain and they’re complementary gift sets from mum’s skincare purchase. Shes the kind who sticks to one brand and gets everything there. Cosmetics companies are most delighted with loyal fans like her. Ive passes Guerlain brushes LONG time ago. i believe the quality has changed. last time i passed a counter the hairs felt very soft. But whether its dense enough to pick up powder, im not sure. Im still using the the compact retractable brush. 15 years to date and still going strong.

  4. Laura Mercier Blue Squirrel Powder Brush
    This is a superior brush. My best investment yet. Plus i got a discount at the local Nars store for only S$60+. Online i believe is selling at over U$150. Can that be true? Anyways i got my brush. It has never shred when i wash it whether im gentle or brutal. It goes on real smooth on the face. Picks up the right amount of powder. not too little and not too much. The perfect brush. Definite re-purchase.

  5. MAC
    Almost all my brushes are from MAC. The ones i cant do without are the brow shader, contour shader (blusher) excellent when i need precise shading for the bronzer, concealer brush and the fibre optic brush for foundation. The last brush is a godsent! It really delivers a good and even coverage to the face. I used to use hands then sponges but this brush has the best effect. Concealor brush is worth a mention too. Its easy to reach into difficult undereye areas and spread the concealor evenly.

  6. Shu Uemura
    Its expensive!!!!!!!!!! But id like to own a few brushes next time. My next purchase is their retractable brush.

Fav: Laura Mercier, MAC
Rant:-

All reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.54 pm.

Tools Others

  1. MAC Fake Eye Lashes
    The SA told me it’s the most natural. I put it on and someone asked if I had fake eye lashes on. Fortunately I only wore it at night and met up with one person. From that day one, I only experiment at home. A few days before, I decided to trim the lashes. Now it sorta looked like my own lashes except thicker. I have to totally focus on it as the hairs are very fine. Discovered that with repeated use, the glue residue tends to stick to the base of the lashes. That is irritating and I find it unhygienic too. So I had to use eye makeup remover to clean it. As for wearing the lashes, I would say im still a beginner. Somehow it does not look convincing.Reviewed on 6 October 2007

  2. Duo Glue for Eye Lashes
    Maybe im a dodo. I dont really know how to use the glue and the lashes really do look fake on me.Update 6/10/07 : I discovered you can squeeze a little out on the back of the hand. Using a tweezer, slowly and lightly drag the base of the lashes over the glue. It doesn’t pick up too much and spreads pretty evenly over.

  3. Shiseido Eyelash Curler
    This is an excellent curler. Get it. i just keep buying the refills. Its so cheap in japan. My refil costs $7 here but its less than $2 in japan. Of course im getting 3 packs.

  4. Tweezerman
    Very precise tweezer. Good on short hairs even those entangled underneath the skin. I got mine on drugstore.com. With postage, this doesnt really come cheap. I heard its quite affordable in Taiwan.

Reviewed on 11 July 2007, 10.58 pm.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s